Baby of The World – Eli’s Room Details

by Gillian

A few months ago I installed my nephew’s nursery and good thing since Eli Wolfe arrived 3 weeks early!  I can’t wait to share with you all the adorable details. As I mentioned in a previous blog post I found the crib bedding which was the inspiration for the whole space.

photo 5 (2)

We decided to go with a blue, red & white color theme – the walls are a pale blue color (Benjamin Moore Breath of Fresh Air # 806); the handmade  wool rug is a super plush cream and light blue chevron that I found on Overstock for a steal ; the curtains are blue and white checked panels that I also scored on Overstock; the Ikea dresser is a deep peacock-blue; the pouf and storage cubes are red and the window seat cushion is multicolored.

Here’s what we started with:

IMG_2880

I enlisted my sister-in-law’s help with putting together my 2nd DIY project – the window seat! I hunted down this discontinued fabric that I spotted online because once I saw it I knew it would be perfect for this room and I HAD TO HAVE IT! I mean could it be any cuter? Then I had a masonite board pre-cut at the Home Depot and then ordered thick foam online – also cut to my measurements. The bench is actually a bookcase from IKEA that we flipped horizontally.

photo 2 (2)

You basically just align the fabric and staple all the way around, and when you get to the corners you wrap them like you would a present. Cut off any excess and don’t worry about what the bottom looks like – nobody will see it.

aug - sept 2013 018I realized once we were installing that my measurements were a wee bit off so fortunately my brother’s friend was able to step in and help us cut the board.photo(7)Here we are wrapping the fabric around a masonite board and foam cushion. Gotta love a staple gun!

aug - sept 2013 015

I used heavy-duty velcro to adhere the bottom of the cushion to the top of the bookcase and then popped in the clear red IKEA bins.

IMG_0387

IMG_0386

While we were busy with that Zach was in charge of drilling – he hung the curtains and then installed 5 wall shelves on either side of the window for our floating bookcase wall.

aug - sept 2013 016

I love that all the books will be visible and easy to find once his library grows.

photo 5

We then hung the swing arm lights on either side of the crib and then placed the focal point of the room – the world map mural that I found on Ebay.  The decal came in two sheets and I cut out each continent and laid it out on the floor before we began.

aug - sept 2013 008

aug - sept 2013 020

Eli has no excuse for not being a whiz in geography!

aug - sept 2013 023

The decals peel right off and were easy to move around and adjust.

aug - sept 2013 024

aug - sept 2013 028

How awesome did this turn out?? I am obsessed.

aug - sept 2013 037

aug - sept 2013 032

Here’s the baby-daddy testing out the Luca Glider that used to live in my girl’s room and the new and pouf .

aug - sept 2013 043

Here are a few of the personal details that help to make this such a special room. A custom mobile from Etsy to perfectly match the room’s decor.

DSC_0488-0000

Framed Shanghai & New York prints hang above the glider.

DSC_0486-0018

An ever growing library wall filled with books and toys.

DSC_0481-0013

DSC_0499-0009

DSC_0511-0012

I love this room and I hope my nephew feels all the love that went into putting it all together.

One Comment to “Baby of The World – Eli’s Room Details”

  1. Going ga-ga over those prints, too! Beautiful baby (and big kid) room.

Leave a comment